Songs for Manannán

Ten songs for Manannán mac Lir:

  1. The Shrine –  Fleet Foxes
  2. Dissolve Me – Alt-j
  3. Jynweytek Ylow – Aphex Twin
  4. The Big Sky – Kate Bush
  5. Dancing with Myself – Nouvelle Vague
  6. Dark Moon, High Tide – Agro Celt Sound System
  7. Kingfisher – Joanne Newsom
  8. So Much Life – Bear McCreary
  9. Death is the Road to Awe – Kronos Quartet
  10. A Promise to Return – Bear McCreary

I tried to represent both Manannán’s playfulness and humor, but also his more serious otherworldy themes. A bit of harp music (and string music in general) seemed appropriate, and that is where Joanne Newsom comes in. Bear McCreary has made more interesting versions of the theme in  So Much Life. This one is a bit over the top, but I liked the title of this number better for a Manannán themed play-list. In any case all the music that he created for Battlestar Galactica (just as the tv-show itself) is pretty amazing. And I am comeplety obsessed with that video by The Fleet Foxes.

Oddly enough, I am not someone who is preoccupied with music generally. I have friends who provide music for me, as I am rarely on the look-out myself. So the songs included in this playlist are not at all new. I enjoy music immensely, but I cannot listen to music, and read or write at the same time. I cannot follow the strings of music and writing at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Songs for Manannán

  1. I was writing for Manannán (Manawydan, as I call him by his Welsh name) when the need for music called… which led me directly to your wonderful blog. You capture the playfulness and otherworldliness wonderfully well. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

