Wilder Mann & book envy

I was first made aware of Charles Fréger’s art about three months ago. And now I want to promote his latest book Wilder Mann. I want these photographs to go viral. But please, do not just visit the National Geographic website, go to his own or better yet, find a way to go to one of his exhibits.

From Wilder Mann – by Charles Fréger

This April I will attend a festival on fairy tale castle grounds. A friend and I will dress up as wild men (well, wild women, or wild something rather) and emulate the Wild Hunt. These pictures certainly inspire. Though I doubt that fake fur and some moss, attached using my amateurish and deficient sowing skills, will be as nice to look it, even if Charles Fréger would take the trouble to turn us into art. My friend however … she is such a great talent with foam and medical tape, I will ask if I can share some pictures of her impersonating a dead raven.

Another source of inspiration – as always – is Dver. In 2011 she introduced the Krampuslauf to me, a wonderfully small ‘p’ pagan tradition not that far from the Dutch borders. She, like Charles Fréger has made me aware of a Europe a hardly now. A Europe I wish to discover, through books, travel and ritual. And this also leads me to a point where I see little point in distinguishing between the Pagan and the pagan. I am more apt to buy books touching on the natural resurgence of pagan culture than books written by Pagan authors.

I want Fréger’s book, badly. But then I also want to purchase Persephone Unveiled by Charles Stein and Spell of the Sensuous by David Abram.

None of them are available at my (or any) library and I have only one book coupon. How am I to bloody choose?

2 thoughts on “Wilder Mann & book envy

  1. I love Freger’s book so much! I actually posted a bit of the introduction to it awhile back, because it’s a powerful piece of writing. Those photos are endlessly inspiring to me. I would love to see photos of what you end up making and wearing! Sounds really cool. I am tentatively planning to try to organize a Perchtenlauf here in January. All the mumming traditions really call to me.

    I agree about not needing to distinguish what is Pagan vs. pagan. I wrote about that a little here: http://forestdoor.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/pagan-survivals/. To me, the worldview expressed by these customs is clearly animistic, and I don’t need to know more than that to appreciate it and even participate. It’s often a lot more authentically pagan, in my mind, that overtly Pagan rituals tend to be.

    1. Thank you for the link to that blog post of yours. It was the one I was initially searching for, but I could not find it. A reason to buy yet another book, yours! Dwelling on the Threshold is also still on my short list. If I will finally be able to buy it, I’ll make sure to write a review to make up for my tardiness.

      As for the introduction to “Wilder Mann”, I remember reading it and being blown away by it. But I must have failed to connect the dots somehow, for I do not think I saw Fréger’s work before the new year.

      I will write something soon about the natural resurgence of pagan … feeling (?). I am not sure what to call it best. But I still stand behind what I wrote in response to your blog post on pagan survivals.

      “Isn’t it a wonderful thing that even if all historical references to a pagan past would be destroyed, we can reconnect once more.”

Leave a Reply

